What is the Cost of Physical Therapy After a Car Accident?
Car accidents come with a great deal of stress that go beyond property damage. The cost of medical treatment and physical therapy services after a car accident vary depending on the insurance company and the policy you hold with them.
The good news is drivers in Florida are legally required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. If you are injured in an accident, your payout will be dependent on the circumstances surrounding your accident and your insurance policy. This coverage will likely cover a great deal – if not all – of the cost of physical therapy after a car accident.
What to Do After a Car Accident
If you have been in a car accident, seek proper medical attention immediately. File reports with the appropriate authorities and obtain the other driver’s insurance information, if applicable. As soon as you have the necessary information, contact your insurance company regarding the personal injury protection coverage on your policy.
What is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal Injury Protection, otherwise known as PIP, is regulated differently in every state. If you are following the law in the state of Florida as a licensed driver, you already carry the minimum $10,000 of personal injury protection. In the event of an accident, this coverage is designed to assist with covering medical costs and physical therapy costs.
While the minimum coverage is $10,000, many insurance companies offer more as an option, but too often, drivers don’t increase that coverage because they fear a ‘larger bill.’ But in reality, adding another $5,000-$10,000 in PIP to your policy will cost you less per month than what you pay for your daily cup of coffee throughout the month.
NOTE: The state of Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that your insurance company should pay a portion of your personal injury costs regardless of fault.
Why Does Florida Require PIP?
According to the Insurance Information Institute as of July 2018, Florida is one of seven states that requires insurance companies to require insured drivers to carry personal injury protection. This coverage ensures that injured drivers and passengers can receive and pay for proper medical treatment regardless of health insurance and who is at fault.
PIP insurance covers the insured driver, passengers, household members, and other drivers injured in the accident. If a pedestrian or bicyclist is injured by a driver and does not have his or her own PIP insurance, they are covered under the automobile driver’s insurance.
Cost of Physical Therapy After a Car Accident
When you choose to receive services with Physical Therapy Now, our experienced staff will conduct an initial interview and will even communicate with your insurance company to inquire about coverage for your services. Your cost of physical therapy will be dependent on the payment received from your insurance company and any expenses not covered by the insurance payment.
Are you ready to get started with your physical therapy? Call us today at (800) 481-4582 to get started.